Looking to quit my current job to do a season 2014 //

Author
  Topic Started By:  maxsilvauk    On:  Tue 27th May, 2014 at 10:45
maxsilvauk
#1  Looking to quit my current job to do a season 2014  27 May '14 at 10:45
Hey guys.

Basically I'm a qualified web designer at the age of 27, I currently work full-time at 42.5 hours a week on 25k per annum £1600 after tax.

Thing is i'm so sick of tired of it i've been doing it for 5-6 years now and I really want to pack up and do a season in Austria then when that season finishes do a season in New Zealand.

I used to work in a pub in wales years ago and in a hotel whilst I was studying at uni. Thing is my CV currently just contains web design / developer experince.

Will I need to tailor my CV, am I too old to do this? Does anyone else have experience of quitting their current job and doing this?

Many thanks

Max
         Jump to Top
OLD MAN OF LECH
Administrator
TRAVELING
#2  Re: Looking to quit my current job to do a season 2014  27 May '14 at 13:13
Hi Max, NO, NO, NO, you are definitely NOT TOO OLD!!
Some companies will actually welcome someone with a mature outlook on life and some life experience, and believe me most of the industry is vastly short of that.
I did my first season when I was approaching 55. I and 1 other chap about the same age were by far the oldest in that years intake. Since then I have done 7 successive seasons and there has been a marked increase in "older" people doing ski seasons. Some like me had "retired" early and our love of skiing and the mountains keeps us going back. SO if you can afford it and want it, go for it! Oh by the way I personally think Austria is by far the best choice!
         Jump to Top
247snowman
Morzine
#3  Re: Looking to quit my current job to do a season 2014  31 May '14 at 21:34
Hi mate,

Do it. You will have a blast. I did my first season at 36.

Can you drive, lots of transfer firms want people over 25 year of age for Insurance purposes.