I'm not English but can I still get work through natives.... //

Next >
Author
  Topic Started By:  fighting_kite    On:  Wed 31st August, 2005 at 08:20
fighting_kite
#1  I'm not English but can I still get work through natives....  31 Aug '05 at 08:20
Hello
I'm wondering what the best way to do a season in Europe is if you are not
European. Thanks to my Grandfather I have an Irish Passport so visas's is not a problem. But I am Australian and there is no way I can make the interviews for the companies listed here. I could apply directly but most of the resorts have the CV section of their websites in their Native language and I only speak English.

Also as far as getting jobs goes, do you need to have a lot of experience
within the field you are working. For example being a Chalet host sounds quite cool bit my cooking is very bad. What about bar work? I have no experience but I'll be 22 by the time this season starts...
         Jump to Top
Kenzie
God's own county/Tignes/South America/North America/Australasia/Asia/Africa
#3  Re: I'm not English but can I still get work through natives....  31 Aug '05 at 08:48
Fighfing-kite,
You're 22, Australian, and not living in London? You must be the only one!
I think you'd have to chance it, and come over here.
         Jump to Top
Bags
London
#4  Re: I'm not English but can I still get work through natives....  31 Aug '05 at 14:27

Originally posted by Kenzie

You're 22, Australian, and not living in London? You must be the only one!
I think you'd have to chance it, and come over here.

Yeah I'm inclined to say I agree. If you're coming halfway across the world to do a ski season anyway, maybe just come a bit earlier and crash in London from October-ish. It seems most of the big TOs recruit people right up til the beginning of the season, and I guess they carry on recruiting throughout it for reserve staff etc...